2003 4.0L loss of power, no CEL - Ford Explorer Forum - Forums for Ford Explorer Enthusiasts
Ford Explorer Forum - Forums for Ford Explorer Enthusiasts

Old 04-30-2018, 02:00 PM   #1
JSargeSter

2003 4.0L loss of power, no CEL

Hey all! Im new here- only because this is my first time around having an issue with my explorer!

I have an '03, 4.0L, XLT, 2WD, 192k miles.

I've been wrenching for years, so im here to get some explorer-specific junkies opinions before is start tearing into things.
I have no active codes.
I replaced the plugs with Autolite Platinum's about 2k miles ago. The plugs that i removed were so terrible, i have absolutely no clue how the engine even ran (i purchased the car 3 months prior)

Surprisingly, it seemed to run on all six. One day it was rough starting and had a slight miss so automatically, i figured what the hell- ill start at the plugs. I know motorcraft and autolite plugs are the go to for these engines, the autolites were on the shelf so thats the route i took.

Anyhow.. i could go drive it right now, and it will have enough power to lay down rubber. But on an occasional basis, mostly when at idle in gear or during acceleration, it almost feels as if it is running out of fuel. It hesitates, and misses. It will eventually pick up and go away in the higher RPM range. No loss of power uptop (WOT @ 3k+RPM)

Shortly after replacing the plugs, the MAF went out. I replaced it. Figured the sensor i purchased was the cause, i returned it and swapped it for a motorcraft unit. It did not change the problem.

Things ive thought about:
Upstream O2's on their way out
Fuel filter
Injectors
Debated a vacuum leak, but it does not idle high

Anyhow .. if you need more information ask away. I need this thing to be reliable, i have a baby on the way!

Thanks!

JSargeSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-01-2018, 11:52 AM   #2
J_C

Some of the following you probably already know or have checked...