Explorer Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm a newbie to the website. My wife's 07 XLT V8 just went in for it's last warranty service (34,000 mi.). I found out the 6 spd. automatic transmission was a full quart low. It didn't come with a transmission dipstick, otherwise I would NEVER have let it get that low. Are there any Ford techs on here that can tell me how to check it and consequently top it off myself in my garage? I'm not fond of paying up to $100 to take it to a dealer, wait two hours, and have them do what I should be able to do in my driveway in five minutes for less than $10 (which I can on my 08 F-150).

·
Registered
11,919 Posts
I believe all of the new Ford transmissions without dipsticks have a fill plug on the side of the case. I have read that before but not seen it, it sounds like it would only be serviceable with a pump and hose. You can get those cheaply at Walmart or most parts stores, they work great.

Draining them and checking them is a whole different subject. There is a "drain" plug in the pan I gather with two parts to it. One part is loosened or removed, and any excess fluid will come out. You fill the trans until it does come out that way, with the fluid just warm(running).

Welcome to the site, and please post back with any corrections or details. This is just what I've learned from reading on the Explorer forums, not any formal manuals etc. Regards,

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, Don. I bought a Haynes Manual yesterday and according to it, the procedure is pretty much like checking/changing the gear oil in a manual transmission. What a pain in the a**!

·
Registered
2,454 Posts
Shi-t, this worries me lol. I just rolled over 50k few months ago (currently sitting at 54k)

Seriously considering about getting my tranny fluid replaced just for my own safety and have it recorded/documented while I am still under warranty. Just to be safe than be sorry.

·
Registered