Explorer Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help me out here, I'm engine retarded. I have a 96 Explorer Sport. I'm pretty sure my engine is the 4.0L OHV @ 160hp. Ford also makes an engine that is 4.0L SOHC @ 210hp. Both are V-6.

Both have 6 cylinders.....both are 4.0L.....WHY DOES THE SOHC HAVE 50 MORE HP??!?!?!!?

I have always been a little disapointed with the performance of my Explorer and this little tid-bit got on my nerves.

To make it all worse, the OHV and SOHC seem to get the same gas milage (according to msn autos).....what the &$%#

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
Im just as engine retarded as you. I guess for some reason having an over head cam increases power.

·
Registered
9,243 Posts
I have no idea either, but I do know that the OHC has a higher compression ratio than the OHV.
:

Currently, I am not an engine expert, but I am very interested to know also.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, so I've been doing my homework and reading up. It might have helped if I knew what OHV and SOHC ment first....

OHV= Overhead Valve

SOHC= Single Overhead Cam

DOHC= Dual Overhead Cam

Ok....its a V-6 right? So that means that the cylinders are in a "V" configuration (right?). In a SOHC engine, this means that there are actually 2 camshafts...one above each row of cylinders. That camshaft controls the opening and closing of the exhaust and fuel valves. In a DOHC there are seperate camshafts for the exhaust and fuel.

From what I've found...OHV is one of 2 things. Either its just another name for SOHC, or its a system where there is 1 camshaft and its inside the engine block, not in the heads. It uses rods that connect up into the valves to control them.