Explorer Talk banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
Well, let's see...there are many things you can do. First, I would clean it really good. Then you can add things like billet pieces, different colored wire loom, paint some peices, etc.. It all depends on how creative you want to get.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
How do you clean the engine? What products do you use? Do you use a power washer or just a garden hose? Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to this.

·
Registered
1,387 Posts
How do you clean the engine? What products do you use? Do you use a power washer or just a garden hose? Sorry for all the questions, I'm new to this.
To clean the engine I use Simple Green or Grease Lightning which can be found at your local Auto store. I first cover all electrical parts with plastic bags or aluminum foil so they do not get wet. I cover the alternator, fuse box, ignition coil pack, battery and your air intake if it's an open filter. I then spray the degreaser on the engine and use a small brush to loosen any dirt in the hard to reach areas. Wait a few minutes then hose it off. A power washer or a garden hose will do fine. Once you hosed it off, dry the engine with some towels then use a rubber/vinyl protectant on all the hoses and plastic parts. That's all it takes.

http://www.bettercarcare.com/articles.php?articleId=25

·
Registered
3,493 Posts
I just used Greased Lightning and it works great. The only problem I had though was I let it sit way too long and it dried up :doh:

I was able to get most of it off but there are still a couple spots. I know not to do that next time!

Id recommend that stuff though

·
Registered
98 Posts
I've heard that its a good idea to start the engine while doing the rinsing off, otherwise it may not start afterwards. Is this true?

·
Registered
74 Posts
I was told that if you sprayed it while it was running that it would crack the block, is this true? Or is it just when your engine is hot?

·