Explorer Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First off, I'm a newbie to the website and so far I think its great! Secondly, I also recently purchased a 98 5.0 AWD XLT two weeks ago. I have had several Rangers and a couple of Mustangs (all pre 87). Now to the main question. I went to the local muffler shop (Kinneys Muffler here in Hurst, TX) to inquire about duals. they recommended that i run a dual in/dual out Flowmaster with 2.25" pipes. They said that 2.25" was big enough even if I was to run 6 lbs of boost (If I was to install a blower in the future). To me this seems too small or will it kill low end power running anything bigger? What does everybody else think?

·
Registered
19,808 Posts
First of all, WELCOME! Glad you found your way here. As for the exhaust, I would say no bigger then 2.5"...2.25" is a little small, and running dual 3" is pretty much out of the question. You'll lose too much backpressure running 3"...

What Flowmaster series are you looking to go for? I have a V6 SOHC dual in single out 3" Flowmaster 50 series and its awesome. I'm not sure if I did actually hurt myself by having the 3" exit, if I ever redo my exhaust I'll make it 2.5"

·
Registered
6,767 Posts
You can do 3" with a 5.0, just not dual. I believe Joe has 3" pipes(I think?).

·
Registered
19,808 Posts
You can do 3" with a 5.0, just not dual. I believe Joe has 3" pipes(I think?).

Yeah Joe does. I meant dual 3" btw...its a no-no on a V6 especially and even a 5.0...

·
Registered
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Glad to meet ya Rob, beautiful sport you have there
. I'm not sure which series Flowmaster they are trying to set me up with (If it was up to me, I would have no mufflers and just run the cats.