Explorer Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok right now i have just a straight y-pipe with 3 inch tips after the cat on my x sport. it is loud and i like the sound except that it is a little raspy at higher rpms. i believe this is because it is just a piece of pipe instead of a muffler and it is 2 and 1/4 inch pipe. besides hollowing out the cat, what could i do to retain the loudness but make it smoother? bigger diameter piping?(may lose bottom end) i think i want to change to single but i dunno. if anyone is an expert on exhaust sound help me out

·
Registered
19,808 Posts
I'm no expert, but if you already have a 3" exit going larger is not the way to go, you're probably already losing low end torque, I could be wrong this is of course assuming you are a V6 which I think you are.

You're the guy that got the 40 series put on, right?

·
Registered
303 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
no i dont have a 40 series. i just have a straight y pipe with no muffler. the tips are just screwed on i didnt think that made a difference. i dunno i'll figure something out

·
Registered
543 Posts
I put on a Borla Pro XS muffler on mine with dual in and single out and then I have a Y pipe and it goes to two 4 inch tips. Then after I did that I took out the back two cats and left the front two in and it is the best sound that I have heard ever on a SUV. That is what I would recogmend to do. I have a 96 X 5.0

·
Registered
15 Posts