Explorer Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi to all, I am new to this.
I have a 2013 ford explorer that I drive mostly on non illuminated roads.
so at Night illumination is crucial.
I dont find my sotck lights good, so I will like to improve them, any suggestion for off road use. led bulbs?, or any solutions?
Thanks

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
If the lens plastic has hazed (no longer crystal clear) from sun exposure, polish them clear again. There are kits for the purpose but even regular off the shelf plastic polish, brasso metal polish, or even toothpaste (with a lot more elbow grease, work to do so) will work.

Otherwise, in stock form they are bright enough. You could look into the aftermarket incandescent (halogen) bulbs such as GE Nighthawk but try to avoid the blue tinted bulbs as they create more glare than perception, trick the eye into thinking they're better but really do not improve night driving vision.

LED bulbs are even worse at that and many result in an illegal blinding light beam when used in reflectors designed for halogen bulbs. Light bars are also illegal for on-road use but is what I'd get for off-road use. There are many sizes and quality levels available.

You might be able to buy the OEM HID housings and bulbs (that come stock from the factory on certain Explorers) and fit them in but I imagine they are expensive.

·
Registered
1,013 Posts
^ Xenon HID bulbs will not provide the correct beam pattern in the existing reflector housings. An entire HID lens/reflector/bulb matched-set replacement could work well.

·
Registered
11 Posts