Explorer Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone i just purchased a 98 explorer w/ the 5.0 v8. Since i am new to modding the explorer i would like to know what your recomendations for performance would be? I do need to get a exaust so i want one that will increase hp since i will be a tow vehical to . But i do have some extra money so i want to improve performace what do ya think i should do ....

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
For starters i'd add a true dual 2.5 inch or single 3in exhaust.

Then a baumann engineering shift kit. Especially if you are going to be towing with it. It will take the slop out of the trans.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Max that V8 out to high heaven. Make that V8 become a power plant for HP, supercharge the beast, get an air intake, throttle body, MAF, headers, exhaust... the options are endless for the 5.0.

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thanx for the welcome guys i appreciate it ......I will look into what you all have said my first step is going to be the exaust maybe the gibson..Then i might go for the intake and mass air ( how did the intake and mass air work out for ya?) again thanx for all the help

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
Cobra, in all honesty i'd do the Baumann shift kit first, it's about 100 bucks, and probably the single best mod there is. My only mistake was not buying it the day i heard of it.

·
Registered
794 Posts