Explorer Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, as many of you know, i have a baumann engineering shift kit, installed internally in the trans. It's set to 3B.

3-shift firmness (out of 5)

B-Torque level (A-C) (if you don't have a supercharger or significant mods, you would set it to A).

Well, i was just about to take it apart and change the firmness to 4 (you can only go up with firmness, not down, because you are drilling) Torque compensation can be undone.

So it was my first time in the snow with it. And it shifts a little hard for minimal traction situations. (I'm AWD).

Don't get me wrong it's not that bad, but i'm a nervous snow driver, until the X, i've driven my mustang for 10 years so...

So i'm rethinking the setting 4 thing, although i've never done the right thing before, so we will see, when i get my new tires.

BTW, 100 bucks for the shift kit, is one of the best bang for your buck mods there is. It's highly recommend.

If you are interested in the shift kit here's the site http://www.baumannengineering.com/ My trans is the AODE, but feel free to call these guys, they are very educated and helpful.

Also see Rob's article on this site at http://www.explorertalk.com/modules.php?name=...showpage&pid=16

Feel free to ask me questions, i'll answer them if i can. THIS MOD IS FOR 5.0'S ONLY.

Also keep in mind, i have a supercharger so it's a little easier for me to overpower the tires.

·
Registered
6,767 Posts
As soon as I move into the house in March I'll be installing it. I just don't have anywhere to work at the moment since I'm in this damn apartment complex.

·
Registered
19,808 Posts
Bah, they don't make them for 4.0 SOHC's? Damn. I thought Rocket showed me a link way back when that was for my Explorer Sport. It'd be a damn shame if I can't install a Baumann shift kit in my X. :sad:

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·