Explorer Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
The girlfriend told me today that she wanted to buy me the required materials so i can paint some plastic peices in the explorer. I have been saying that I would do this for probably 2 years and just have never done it. What kind of materials am i looking at getting, obviously some plastic primer, paint, and clear coat... anything else that im missing?

and just incase anyone else is wondering, she also got me an Adrian Peterson 296 rushing yard record breaking T-shirt, Some Cologne, a mustang t-shirt and is bringing me up to her family cabin this weekend for some fishing on the lake.

On top of that, i got a 30$ gift card to TGI Fridays from my sis, a new fishing real and some tackle from my mom and the new ps3 Aerosmith guitar hero from my dad.

all in all a good 22nd b-day!

·
Registered
9,243 Posts
Taking you to her cabin for some fishing...........Now that is a good Minnesotan girlfriend.

Maybe get some scuff pads to get the paint to stick best, some prep solvent to make sure the surface is nice and clean, free of wax, etc. What parts are you going to paint?

·
Registered
1,029 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
probably just the radio bezel, the black plastic part above the stearing wheel and plastic peice where the spedometer is (haha guess i can't really explain this part any better) and the message center and the cupholder peice that goes up to the arm rest.

ya the g/f is pretty amazing, we have been together for 2.5 years and this will be my second time going to their cabin. Her family will be their but they treat me as if i were one of their family members!

thanks for the help and recommendations, i think i will have her tag along to an auto parts store to pick these things up next week sometime.

·
Registered
9,243 Posts