Explorer Talk banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK- I'm new to the audio jig, I don't know what's what and if i'm getting ripped off in an audio store or what. With that said, I have about 2000 to spend, and wanna put in some subs that sound good. What are some options I have? Right now my truck is stock so the system will be starting from scratch. Thanks!

·
Registered
1,254 Posts
Anything Rockford, JL, Boston Acostick, Eclipse. I recoomen Rockford amps. I know some people will disagree with me. You know, you should talk to TFN Rob. Hes got a very nice system for sale!

·
Registered
666 Posts
JL Audio is the way to go!

Get some 10's or 12's W3's or better, then some XR Components for mids and highs and lastly get some JL amps ... (E-bay is the way to go)

300x4 JL amp for the mids and highs and a 500x1 for the subs

And an Eclipse head unit. (I reccomend the CD5441)

You cant go wrong with this setup ... unless you dont wanna go deff

·
Registered
6,767 Posts
Are you talking $2000 for the whole system?

If that's the case:

Head unit - Eclipse, Alpine, Pioneer, in that order of quality. I have a Pioneer but I'm going to get an Eclipse at some point.

Amp - Kicker, MTX, Rockford

Subs - Image Dynamics, Directed Audio, Adire, JL; there are so many but I'm thinking about either the Adire Shiva or one from Directed and have to decide soon.

Speakers - Go with components; MB Quart, Infinity; I prefer Infinity.

Remember, it all starts with the head unit but to me, the speakers have always been the most important part since that what's your actually hear. And make sure you use good, brand name wiring.

·
Registered
566 Posts
JL Audio is the way to go! ?
?

Get some 10's or 12's W3's or better, then some XR Components for mids and highs and lastly get some JL amps ... (E-bay is the way to go)

300x4 JL amp for the mids and highs and a 500x1 for the subs

And an Eclipse head unit. (I reccomend the CD5441) ?