Explorer Talk banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
John, i've heard you've been working on a new supercharger, and i'm curious on if this is true, if you remember from our discussions i wanted to do it, but without a dyno it's hard to calculate how pulley size effects horsepower and the fuel mixture.

So whats the deal? Is it true about the pulley? (keep in mind i am now an administrator here, and i will edit what you say in other threads if you don't respond quickly) J/K, but i could though. But I don't want to abuse my power until the second week on the job. :devilgrin:

·
Registered
19,808 Posts
oh god...what have i done...what have i done... :roll:

·
Registered
5,238 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, ok, i was just messing with John and i promise not to miss use my power period.

Joe

·
Registered
155 Posts
Hey Joe, with your history I am suprised that you got the job................just kidding! You are the coolest (not only because you have an X-Charger!). This web site needs at true Ford power guy that is not full of b/s. I know from talking to you, that you do know what you are talking about. I know you won't ban somebody for showing their knowledge or for having an opinion that is different from yours.

The new supercharger is for the V6 4.0 SOHC. A pulley upgrade for the 5.0 X-Charger is very possible. It will require a host of upgrades. The same stuff we have talked about in the past. Which would include 30lb injectors, 80mm Mass Air Sensor, High Pressure Fuel Pump and a custom chip. When that is all done you will have to think about working over yours transmission (something else we have talked about). Your stock tranny will not take the extra power for very long.